Time in the studio

2 comments
Photography, Portrait, Uncategorized

For some time I’ve been trying to work up the courage to hire a professional model so I can practice lighting, directing, post production and composite work.    I still haven’t crossed that bridge, but last week I arranged a photoshoot at quirky studio in the centre of Cardiff.   The studio space offered lots of creative opportunity from a grand hall with decorative columns, to dark, creepy vaults which wouldn’t be out of place in a Freddie Krueger film.

I invited a fellow photographer who tapped his contacts for a potential model.  Hey presto,  Rosie came to the rescue.  A delightful young lady who, although not a professional, has often modelled for her mother who also happens to be a photographer. Rosie’s natural ability to take and interpret instruction whilst adding her own flair, made our lives easy.    I had a couple of ideas to work with but wasn’t really sure how they would pan out and therein lies the learning point – it really helps to know your venue, design your look, plan, research and execute…  I shall be more prepared next time.

Below was an experiment in blending a single studio shot with a stock photo from the web.  It’s clear my skills are still developing – the background image is not ideal but was the best I could find to match my idea. I’m not embarrassed by the relatively dodgy final image – it’s all part of the learning curve.

untitled-17-2-Edit

untitled-5-Edit

untitled-25-Edit

2 thoughts on “Time in the studio”

  1. bmalzard says:

    I really like the image of movement and the stock image in the background – kinda retro and it begins to tell a story.

    • Thank you. I think that’s the route I’m keen to go down, Just taking a model against a bare background doesn’t really give the viewer much. Next time, I’ll work on the story!

Why not leave a comment - it will keep me motivated!

