135/365 – Sheffield Cathedral

Leave a comment
Architecture, Photography

I’ve chatted to a several people who were born and bred in Sheffield and very few have ever ventured into Sheffield Cathedral.  So, camera in hand, I decided to suss it out.   It is one of the oldest buildings still in use in the centre of Sheffield. From the outside, it’s not a terribly impressive building – it has recently had some renovation work done to add on a rather peculiar, modern wing (are they called wings in churches?).   I can’t say the new extension is aesthetically pleasing from the outside, there are several large columns of concrete that rise into the air as though the builders have forgotten to complete the second storey. Once inside however, the Cathedral has a lovely light and spacious air about it.   The renovated part marries well with the older sections of the building and there are numerous little nooks and crannies to explore, including a crypt (I think) for quiet contemplation.      I only had my 50mm lens with me so I’m afraid I wasn’t able to go wide enough to give you the sense of space.  You are also not allowed to take tripods into the Cathedral so I had to crank up the ISO – all in all it was a nice visit but I wasn’t happy with the photographic outcome.

untitled_7_150515

untitled_3_150515

untitled_11_150515

135/365 - Sheffield Cathedral

Why not leave a comment - it will keep me motivated!

